Enable Javscript for better performance
All winners from Prakash Raj panel resigns, no split in MAA- Cinema express

All winners from Prakash Raj panel resigns, no split in MAA

The actor alleged that there were severe discrepancies in the election pattern and opined that the counting was not conducted in a fair manner

Published: 12th October 2021
All winners from Prakash Raj panel resigns, no split in MAA

The battle between Prakash Raj and Vishnu Manchu panels had turned murky after the results of the Movie Artist Association (MAA) were announced. Prakash Raj has announced that all the winners of his panel -- Cine'MAA'Biddalam -- are resigning their respective posts immediately. He stated that the decision was taken to avoid any setbacks in the administration of the Movie Artist Association (MAA). 

He alleged that there were severe discrepancies in the election pattern and opined that the counting was not conducted in a fair manner. 

"They have declared all the results on Sunday except, for the executive committee. On the counting day, they announced that 11 members, who contested as the executive committee members from my panel were leading in the election. The next day, the results got changed and it was announced that only seven members from my panel have won. I wonder what happened overnight," said Prakash Raj, adding, "To ensure seamless administration and to avoid unnecessary conflicts, all winners from my panel are resigning with immediate effect."

Prakash Raj stated that Vishnu tried persuading him to withdraw his resignation on Monday and he will take it back only if they make necessary changes to the bylaws. "I have tendered my resignation from MAA the other day and Vishnu Manchu refused to accept it. I will withdraw my resignation if they do not change the bylaws of MAA after being sworn in as the president that a non-Telugu member should not contest in the election. I don't want to be a part of an association as a voter alone," he added. 

Actor Srikanth, who was elected as the executive vice-president of MAA, said, "In the larger interest of MAA, we have always appealed for a dignified election and we urged all the members to elect only one panel with full majority. However, 11 members from our panel have emerged victorious and we think conflicts will arise if we exercise our power and function independently. So we now have no choice than leaving the administration to Vishnu and his team in the best interests of MAA. I understand that our decision will not go well with our supporters, but this is inevitable."

He also asserted that they will stand by Vishnu and will support the association as outsiders. "After the election, they claimed that we all are one. But their actions speak otherwise. As a member of MAA, we will extend our services and will provide them with the right support as and when required," said Srikanth. 

Actor Banerjee, who won as the vice-president of MAA, breaks down in tears over poor treatment by the opposition. "In the election speeches, VK Naresh has branded me as mutha nayakudu (group leader), but I never paid heed to his words. When Mohan Babu garu targeted Tanish, I urged him and Vishnu to not do that. Instead of stopping his scathing attack, Mohan Babu garu, being a member of the disciplinary committee of MAA, resorted to using filthy language and abused me brutally. I am a senior member of MAA and I knew Mohan Babu garu for decades now. Tanish was inconsolable and I felt dejected after being insulted by them. My wife and the family members were deeply upset with these developments. For the last three days, I am controlling my emotions, but they insulted me publicly. Now that I have resigned, I hope my pain would ease off," said Benerjee with tears in his eyes.

Actor Tanish said, "I thank the people for electing me as an executive committee member. I have high regard for Mohan Babu garu and I love Vishnu anna and Manoj anna. I don't know why Mohan Babu garu abused me severely. I was badly hurt and I cannot handle this anymore. I have decided to step down as the executive committee member of MAA with immediate effect."

Uttej, who won as the general secretary said, "I don't understand why they have raked up the insider and outsider debate. We have contested the election only to serve the association selflessly. If you visit Prakash Raj's office, you will be amazed to know the blueprint of the new building for MAA. The former president of MAA, VK Naresh has been on an abusing spree and during the election day. He abused my mother. This behaviour is extremely objectionable."

He continues, "Naresh always encouraged the divide and rule policy. He alleged financial irregularities in a fundraiser event attended by legendary actor Chiranjeevi. I have never seen Benerjee anna shedding tears in 30 years. Vishnu anna, you have the ability and the support of your father (Mohan Babu) and I am confident that you will successfully lead MAA."

Amid speculation of launching a rival association, Prakash Raj refuted the rumours and said, "There is no truth in the reports of us forming a new association. We will continue our support from outside and we have every right to question the governing body if no work is done."

Related Articles


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.


Which is your favourite time travel film in Tamil?

Indru Netru Naalai