Enable Javscript for better performance
Kerala Film Critics Awards announced- Cinema express

Kerala Film Critics Awards announced

Prithviraj and Biju Menon shared the Best Actor honors while Surabhi Lakshmi and Samyuktha Menon were bestowed with the Best Actress awards

Published: 13th September 2021
Critics Choice Awards

The Great Indian Kitchen won the 45th Kerala Film Critics Award for Best Film 2020. While Jeo Baby will take home the trophy for Best Picture, Siddartha Siva has been accorded Best Director for Ennivar.

Prithviraj and Biju Menon will share the Best Actor honors for Ayyappanum Koshiyum. Surabhi Lakshmi won Best Actress for Jwalamukhi, while Samyuktha Menon was named Best Actress for her performances in Aanum Pennum, Vellam, and Wolf.

In addition to the above, veteran filmmaker KG George will be honored with the Chalachithra Ratnam Award for his outstanding contribution to cinema, and director K Harikumar, who has completed 40 years in the film industry, will be presented with the Critics Ruby Jubilee Award.

Other awards:

Second Best Picture: Vellam (Producer: Josukutty Mathil, Yadukrishna, Ranjith, Biju)
Best Second Film Director: Prajesh Sen (Film: Vellam)
Best Supporting Actor: Sudheesh (Film: Ennivar)
Best Supporting Actress: Mamita Baiju (Film: Kho Kho)
Best Child Actor: Master Siddhartha (Film: Bonami),
Baby Krishnasree (Film: Kanthi)
Best Screenplay: Sachi (Film: Ayyappanum Koshiyum)
Special Jury Award: Jwalamukhi
Best Lyricist: Engandiyoor Chandrasekharan (Film: Rendam Naal)
Best Music Director: M. Jayachandran (Film: Sufiyum Sujathayum)
Best Playback Singer: PK Sunilkumar (Song: Sheriethu Thettethu, Film: Perfume)
Best Playback Singer: KS Chithra (Song: Neelavanam Thalamenti, Film: Perfume)
Best Cinematography: Amal Neerad (Film: Trance)
Best Cinematography: Noufal Abdullah (Film: Sameer)
Best Sound Recorder: Resul Pookutty (Film: Trance)
Best Art Director: Deepu Joseph (Film: Sufiyum Sujathayum)
Best Makeup Man: Sudhi Surendran (Film: Ek Din)
Best Costume Design: Mashar Hamsa (Film: Trance)
Best Popular Film: Sufiyum Sujathayum (Director: Shanavas Naranarippuzha)
Best Children's Film: Bonami (Director: Tony Sukumar)
Best Biographical Film: Vishudha Chavarayachan (Director: Aji K. Jose)
Best Environmental Film: Orilathanalil (Directed by Ashok R. Nath)
Best Picture on Performing Arts: Pachathappu (Director: Anu Purushoth), Uriyatt (Director: K. Bhuvanachandran)
Best Sanskrit Film: Bhagavadhajukam (Directed by Yadu Vijayakrishnan)

Best Debut Talents:

Actor: Anand Roshan (Film: Sameer)
Actress: Afsana Lakshmi (Film: White Sweet)
Direction: Viyan Vishnu (Film: Ek Din)

Special Jury Awards:

Direction: Zeenat (Film: Rendam Naal), Jinoy-Jibit (Film: Kozhiporu)
Lyricist: BT Anilkumar (Leica)
Article 21 (Director: Lenin LU)
Kho Kho (Directed by Rahul Riji Nair)

Related Articles


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.


As superstar's Baba is gearing up for a re release, what other Rajini film would you like to see on the big screen again?