Enable Javscript for better performance
Tamil Nadigar Sangam election result out: Nasar, Vishal, Karthi and Poochi Murugan win- Cinema express

Tamil Nadigar Sangam election result out: Nassar, Vishal, Karthi, and Poochi Murugan win

The Pandavar Ani has won all key positions to govern the Nadigar Sangam

Published: 20th March 2022
Pandavar Ani

After the counting of votes to elect the President, Vice President, and Treasurer for Nadigar Sangam took place on Sunday in Chennai, team 'Pandavar Ani' has emerged victorious. The polling for the positions took place in 2019, however, the counting did not take place due to litigation. This was resolved in court in February. 

Nassar will serve as the President of the Nadigar Sangam. Vishal and Isari K Ganesh contested for the position of Secretary, and Vishal won by securing 1720 votes surpassing the 1032 votes Isari had gained. 35 votes were announced invalid. Karthi and Prashanth contested for the position of Treasurer and the former won by securing 1827 votes. Out of this 818 were cast by post, and 1009 votes were cast directly.

Pandavar Ani's S Murugan aka Poochi Murugan has been elected as the Vice President after securing 1612 votes. Swami Sankaradoss Ani contestant Karunas, who secured 1605 votes, lost by small margin. The Executive position for the Nadigar Sangam has been won by Kutty Padmini who secured 1015, gaining an edge over Udhaya's 973. 

The election took place between Nassar-Vishal-led Pandavar Ani and the Bhagyaraj-led Swami Sankaradoss Ani. The polling was conducted on July 23, 2019, however, before the counting could take place, a lawsuit against the proceedings was filed by Ezhumalai and Benjamin who claimed that the polling was invalid due to corrupt practices.

This petition was dismissed by the High Court. The bench comprising  Justice Pushpa Sathyanarayana and Justice Mohammed observed on February 23, "The elections held on July 23, 2019, is valid. The sealed ballot boxes which are kept in the bank locker can be opened under the supervision of the election officer and the votes could be counted within four weeks."

Related Articles


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.