Enable Javscript for better performance
Rajinikanth: I dedicate this Dadasaheb Phalke Award to guru Balachander who created 'Rajinikanth'- Cinema express

Rajinikanth: I dedicate this Dadasaheb Phalke Award to my guru Balachander who created 'Rajinikanth'

The actor shared a heartfelt letter thanking those who conferred the honour as well as those who supported him through his career

Published: 01st April 2021

Rajinikanth, who was conferred with the prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award for 2019 earlier today, took to Twitter to acknowledge the honour.

In a series of tweets, the actor first thanked the government of India, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union I&B minister Prakash Javdekar and the jury for conferring the award.

The actor also posted a heartfelt letter to thank all the people from different streams of his life. "I dedicate this award to my friend Raj Bahadur who identified my talent for acting, to my brother Satyanarayana Rao Gaekwad, who strived and sacrificed a lot to make me an actor, even when we were struggling financially, to my guru Balachander for introducing me to the big screen and creating this 'Rajinikanth'," he wrote in Tamil. 

Rajinikanth also dedicated the award to his producers, directors, technicians, financial executives, theatre owners, media, the people of Tamil Nadu, and his fans around the world.

He also thanked Tamil Nadu CM Edappadi Palaniswami, Deputy CM O Panneerselvam, DMK President MK Stalin, his dear friend actor-politician Kamal Haasan, and political leaders across the nation, friends from all streams of life, and well-wishers.

Billed as the highest honour awarded for Indian cinema personalities, the Dadasaheb Phalke award was recently awarded to Amitabh Bachchan for the year 2018. Rajinikanth joins an illustrious list of film personalities to have received the honour, including his mentor K Balachander, Sivaji Ganesan, Satyajit Ray, Amitabh Bachchan, Akkineni Nageswara Rao, Raj Kapoor, Dilip Kumar, Gulzar, Lata Mangeshkar, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, and K Vishwanath. He is the fourth actor from South Indian cinema after Akkineni Nageswara Rao, Sivaji Ganesan, and Rajkumar to be awarded the Dadasaheb Phallke award.

The award will be presented to Rajinikanth on May 3, when the recently announced National Awards will also be awarded to the recipients.

Related Articles


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.


Which is your favourite time travel film in Tamil?

Indru Netru Naalai