Enable Javscript for better performance
50th Kerala State Film Awards announced- Cinema express

50th Kerala State Film Awards announced

Among the 119 films considered, more than half the entries were from first-time directors

Published: 13th October 2020

The 50th Kerala State Film Awards (2019-2020) have been announced. The ceremony was presided over by cultural affairs minister AK Balan. He noted that of the 119 films considered, more than half the entries were from first-time directors. Madhu Ambat headed the jury.

While Vasanthi (directed by Rahman Brothers) won Best Picture, Kenjira (directed by Manoj Kana) won Second Best Picture. Suraj Venjaramoodu won Best Actor (Male) for Android Kunjappan and Vikrithi while Kani Kusruti won Best Actor (Female) for Biriyaani

The other acting category winners are Swasika Vijay won Best Character Actor (Female) for Vasanthi, and Fahadh Faasil won Best Character Actor (Male) for Kumbalangi Nights.

Lijo Jose Pellissery won Best Director for Jallikattu. Sushin Shyam took home Best Composer for Kumbalangi Nights, Best Best Playback Singer (Male) for Najeem Arshad and Best Playback Singer (Female) for Madhushree Narayanan.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Best Film - Vasanthi

Best Second Film - Kenjira

Best Director - Lijo Jose Pellissery for Jallikattu

Best Actor (Male) - Suraj Venjaramoodu for Android Kunjappan Ver 5.25 and Vikurthi

Best Actor (Female) - Kani Kuruthi for Biriyaani

Best Character (Male) - Fahadh Faasil for Kumbalangi Nights

Best Character (Female) - Swasika Vijay for Vasanthi

Best Composer - Sushin Shyam for Kumbalangi Nights

Best Playback Singer (Male) - Najeem Arshad

Best Playback Singer (Female) - Madhushree Narayanan

Best Art Director - Jyothish

Best Sync Sound - Madhavan Nair

Best Dubbing Artist: Vineeth for Lucifer

Best Popular Film - Kumbalangi Nights

Best Debutant Director - Ratheesh Poduval for Android Kunjappan Ver 5.25

Jury Award for Best VFX - Sidharth Priyadarshan for Marakkar: Arabikdalinte Simham

Jury mention - Music director - V Dakshinamoorthy for Shyamaraagam

Jury Mention - Actor - Nivin Pauly for Moothon, Anna Ben for Helen, Priyamvada Krishnan for Thottappan

Related Articles


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.


Which is your favourite time travel film in Tamil?

Indru Netru Naalai