Mersal producer Murali Ramaswamy, RK Suresh, Kathiresan win TFPC election

Tamil Nadu Film Producers Council Elections results are out; Murali's team has won big against actor-filmmaker T Rajendar
Murali Ramaswamy
Murali Ramaswamy

The results of the long-delayed Tamil Nadu Film Producers Council election are out. While Murali Ramaswamy, producer of Vijay's Mersal, has been elected President, his team member RK Suresh has become the newly-elected Vice President.

The election was held at MGR Janaki College on Sunday, and hundreds of council members including star-producers like Kamal Haasan and Kushboo cast their vote. Murali received 557 votes, beating his nearest competitor T Rajendar by 179 votes. 

Kathiresan, who contested as an independent candidate, has been elected as the second vice president of the council. Chandra Prakash Jain and Radhakrishnan, the other two contestants from Murali's team, have become the treasurer and secretary, respectively.

On the other hand, candidate Mannan from T Rajendar's faction has also been elected as the secretary of TFPC. 

Related Stories

No stories found.
Cinema Express